Diversity Spotlight Thursday #9

Hi readers! The Diversity Spotlight Thursday is a weekly meme hosted by Aimal on her blog Bookshelves and Paperbacks and since reading diverse books is important to me, I’m trying to take part every week.

The rules are simple: in your diversity spotlight post, you share three books

  1. A diverse book you have read and enjoyed
  2. A diverse book that has already been released but you have not read
  3. A diverse book that has not yet been released

If you want to read more about it, you can check out the Announcement Post!

And without further ado, here are my features for this week!


A book I have read and enjoyed

Wide Sargasso Sea by Jean Rhys

Wide Sargasso SeaBook blurb:
Wide Sargasso Sea
is a sort of prequel to Jane Eyre, telling the story of Antoinette (Bertha), who was the first wife of Mr Rochester, the one you may know as the madwoman. In this unique retelling, Jean Rhys introduces us with a rich, Creole heiress who knows nothing of the rest of the world, and who ends up marrying an English man she barely knows, which will lead to her downfall. This book has POC and mental illness, and is a must read in my opinion. It is a book I will never forget. If you loved Jane Eyre and find that the story was not enough, then you should definitely check out this one, though it will most likely change your perspective on Rochester! This book was really interesting, and overall absolutely brilliant.


A book on my TBR

Something in between by Melissa de la Cruz

Goodreads summary:Something in Between
Jasmine de los Santos has always done what’s expected of her. Pretty and popular, she’s studied hard, made her Filipino immigrant parents proud and is ready to reap the rewards in the form of a full college scholarship.
And then everything shatters. A national scholar award invitation compels her parents to reveal the truth: their visas expired years ago. Her entire family is illegal. That means no scholarships, maybe no college at all and the very real threat of deportation.
For the first time, Jasmine rebels, trying all those teen things she never had time for in the past. Even as she’s trying to make sense of her new world, it’s turned upside down by Royce Blakely, the charming son of a high-ranking congressman. Jasmine no longer has any idea where—or if—she fits into the American Dream. All she knows is that she’s not giving up. Because when the rules you lived by no longer apply, the only thing to do is make up your own.

Something in between was released in October, and I heard about it on Booktube. It definitely looks like something I would enjoy, so I hope I can pick it up soon!


A book that hasn’t been released yet

American Street by Ibi Zoboi

American StreetGoodreads summary:
American Street is an evocative and powerful coming-of-age story perfect for fans of Everything, Everything; Bone Gap; and All American Boys. In this stunning debut novel, Pushcart-nominated author Ibi Zoboi draws on her own experience as a young Haitian immigrant, infusing this lyrical exploration of America with magical realism and vodou culture.
On the corner of American Street and Joy Road, Fabiola Toussaint thought she would finally find une belle vie—a good life.
But after they leave Port-au-Prince, Haiti, Fabiola’s mother is detained by U.S. immigration, leaving Fabiola to navigate her loud American cousins, Chantal, Donna, and Princess; the grittiness of Detroit’s west side; a new school; and a surprising romance, all on her own.
Just as she finds her footing in this strange new world, a dangerous proposition presents itself, and Fabiola soon realizes that freedom comes at a cost. Trapped at the crossroads of an impossible choice, will she pay the price for the American dream?


This is my selection of diverse reads for this week, I hope you enjoyed reading! Please do feel free to recommend me more diverse books in the comments, I am always looking for more! Have a nice day!

Advertisements

5 thoughts on “Diversity Spotlight Thursday #9

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s