Mumbo Jumbo: Short Review

img_20161128_122356.jpg

Hi readers! I am here today with the review of another diverse book, that was recommended by one of my professors. This book is called Mumbo Jumbo and it was written by Ishmael Reed in 1971.

Goodreads summary:

Mumbo Jumbo is Ishmael Reed’s brilliantly satiric deconstruction of Western civilization, a racy and uproarious commentary on our society. In it, Reed, one of our preeminent African-American authors, mixes portraits of historical figures and fictional characters with sound bites on subjects ranging from ragtime to Greek philosophy. Cited by literary critic Harold Bloom as one of the five hundred most significant books in the Western canon, Mumbo Jumbo is a trenchant and often biting look at black-white relations throughout history, from a keen observer of our culture.

My rating: ★★✩✩✩

My opinion:

I have to say, I was puzzled, confused and slightly disappointed by this book. Most of the time, if I have to be honest, I have to admit I didn’t really understand what was going on, or what was the point of the whole story.

It was an interesting book, I think, but it was too confusing. I felt there was too many characters, and too many stories going on at the same time. I really wanted to appreciate Reed’s clever work, but I guess it was not my cup of tea. Or maybe I was not in the right mood for this book, which is possible as well.

I didn’t really care what would happen in the end, and almost dropped the book, though at the beginning, I was rather excited about it (I reread some notes I made, and my rating at the beginning was four stars). For some reason I can’t really point out, it went downhill, and I can’t figure out how to review this book, though I still wanted to mention it on the blog.

If you have read it, I am really interested in your thoughts and feelings on this book!

Recommended for:

People interested in African American literature, and diverse books.

One thought on “Mumbo Jumbo: Short Review

Leave a Reply

