Heartless: My Review

img_20161125_104916.jpg

Hi readers, and first of all, I am very sorry I have been so inactive recently. I was very busy with uni work, and sightseeing Berlin with a friend. But now I am back in Paris for Christmas break, and I have many reviews that are long overdue. One of them is for Heartless by Marissa Meyer, so without further ado, here we go!

Genre: Fantasy, YA, Retelling
Publication: November 2016
My rating: ★★★★★

The story:

Catherine is one of the most popular girls in Wonderland, beautiful, rich and from a rich family, and also the center of the King of Hearts’ attention. He wishes to propose and make her his wife, but all Cath cares about is opening a bakery, the best one in Wonderland. But before the King is able to propose, Catherine meets Jest, the new Court Joker, and soon realises she is falling for him, though this was not part of her life plan… Nor her parents’ obviously.

As the King enter a courtship with her, Cath grows closer to Jest, and starts questioning all she knew in a country menaced by the mysterious Jabberwock.

My opinion:

This book being a retelling of Alice in Wonderland following the future Queen of Hearts, I know it could never end well, however I couldn’t help hoping for my happy ending. I grew very attached to Catherine, who is a rather relatable character. Bold, independant, and also a dreamer, Catherine is the girl I sometimes wish I could be. It gave me a complete new view on the infamous Queen of Hearts, and I will probably never read Alice in Wonderland the same way.

I am a huge fan of The Lunar Chronicles so of course I had high expectations for this book. I was also very curious because it focuses on a character known as a villain, like Fairest. And I have to say, I was not desappointed. Maybe it was not as good as The Lunar Chronicles, but it was still an amazing and very emotional read, and I gave it five stars without second thoughts.

This book made me swoon and laugh and cry and stress out about all the dear characters. Even though it was a retelling, it still managed to have great surprises in store for the readers, and I really appreciated it.

I’ve read it at the end of November and it’s getting harder to write a proper review, so I won’t say much more now. I really liked this book and I heavily recommend it. It was unique, surprising, and overall an amazing read!

Recommended for:

Retelling lovers, Alice in Wonderland fans, overall people who liked The Lunar Chronicles and enjoy a great YA fantasy. If you watch the TV Show Once Upon a Time then this is also something I would recommend!

3 thoughts on “Heartless: My Review

Leave a Reply

