Sunday Recommendations: Winter Reads

Merry Christmas readers, and on this occasion, I will be sharing with you all some great winter & Christmas reads! I also made a video about this which you can find here. And in the meantime, here are my selections for this week’s Sunday Recommendations!

*****

The Harry Potter series by J.K. Rowling

hpAnd especially book 1 to 4. I couldn’t talk about Christmas without talking about Harry Potter, because Christmas at Hogwarts is such a magical event, of course I had to mention it. It always seems like the perfect occasion to read Harry Potter anyway, but I think Christmas is the most perfect one. Especially for the first book, because this is where Harry, who grew up with people who didn’t like hime, discoverse the true magic of Christmas, and gifts. The fourth one is also a great exemple with the Yule ball, obviously. Then the story gets darker, and it’s not that much of a Christmas read anymore. But if you have never read the Harry Potter series, what are you waiting for? Go pick it up and cuddle by the fireplace!

The Lord of the Rings by J.R.R. Tolkien

The Lord of the Rings (The Lord of the Rings, #1-3)I believe The Lord of the Rings is another great series to cuddle by the fireplace. Winter sounds like fantasy to me, cuddling up with a great adventure, and of course, The Lord of the Rings is the perfect pick. I read them when I was in 8th grade, and I have to admit I have never watched the movies (I know, shame on me). But I definitely plan on doing that at some point. And I would also like to reread the books because I think I didn’t appreciate them to their full extent.

The Chronicles of Narnia by C.S. Lewis

img_20150529_221140I believe Narnia is another great fantasy and adventure that matches with the Christmas spirit, and especially The Lion, the Witch and the Wardrobe, which is the second book in the series, and probably the most well known. It is the perfect book for winter, because at that point, Narnia is stuck under the snow, in the midst of a never ending winter… So of course it’s the perfect read for now. It just matches the Christmas spirit perfectly. Whether you dream of a white Christmas or not, I think Narnia is a wonderful read for winter and Christmas.

Let it Snow
by John Green, Maureen Johnson and Lauren Myracle

img_20151217_173838I believe Let it Snow is another perfect example of the perfect Christmas read, of course because it takes place on Christmas. Let it Snow is all about people going home for Christmas, and reuniting with the people they love on the longest night of the year. It is a very sweet book, which matters a lot to me because it is the book that got me back into reading two years ago. You might find it a bit cheesy, but honestly, it never gets too cheesy for me, and it’s a Christmassy book, so what’s the point if it’s not about love and sweet things like this? If you haven’t read it yet, I definitely recommend it as a Christmas read, or something you might give as a present!

My True Love Gave To Me
a collection of short stories collected by Stephanie Perkins

MTLGTMAnother book that you have to read during the winter, this one is a collection of 12 different short stories, all set around Christmas break. This is about people finding each other, and celebrating Christmas/Hanouka/New Year’s Eve together. I have to admit I didn’t enjoy all the stories, but you don’t have to read them all if you don’t want to! And that’s the good thing about short stories. For example I absolutely loved the first one, which was written by Rainbow Rowell… And many others. Honestly, this book is the perfect read for Christmas break, it has a bit of everything! (review)

Landline by Rainbow Rowell

IMG_20160521_183625While I’m talking about Rainbow Rowell, I was about to mention Fangirl as a great winter read, and then I remembered that Landline is set during Christmas and Christmas break, so I believe it’s an even more perfect pick for this list. This book is probably one of my favourite 2016 reads, and I really recommend it anyway, but moreover, it’s the perfect time of the year to read it! If you want a contemporary, cheesy book, then that’s the thing for you. If you want a book with a Christmas miracle, then that’s also the thing for you. Unlike FangirlLandline is more of an adult fiction, with tads of magical realism, and I absolutely loved it. (review)

The Weaver’s Riddle by Claire Marie Lucas

the weaver's riddle 1An last but not least, another fantasy/adventure book which is also a perfect read to cuddle by the fireplace with a hot drink in my opinion. If you have read all of the books above, you may not have heard of this one anyway (which is available on paperback and kindle if you want to read it right away). This book is about a booklover (what is not to like?) who goes on a quest to save her favourite bookshop and is transported to a magical kingdom where all the women have disappeared. There, she realises she has to help those people, and also the mysterious boy-dragon who is their captive. One of my favourite 2015 reads, I definitely recommend it, and I cannot wait for the sequel!! (review)

*****

And that’s it for today! I hope you are all having a wonderful Christmas, or a wonderful holiday if you do not celebrate it.

xoxo

Clémence

2 thoughts on “Sunday Recommendations: Winter Reads

Leave a Reply

