A Christmas Carol: My Review

A Christmas Carol

Yes, finally, I am writing a book review. I was probably the last person ever to read this book, I know, and I still came into it not really knowing what to expect, and I was really glad about that. I had a pretty bad experience with Dickens last year when I studied Great Expectations for one of my classes and ended up not really liking it. Not liking it at all, actually, I didn’t like the main character and found overall the book annoying and frustrating. But anyway, let’s move on to A CHRISTMAS CAROL because I really enjoyed it. I even have to admit, at some point I almost cried, so if this is not a proof that I enjoyed the book, then I don’t know what is.

The story:

The main character, Scrooge, is an old man who lives mostly alone since his business partner died, and he hates Christmas. He hates everything about it, actually, and gets really annoyed by the town’s merriment around Christmas. But one night, he is visited by three different ghosts, and this will transform him.

My opinion:

Well, first of all, as I mentioned above, I came into this book not really knowing what to expect. I just wanted to read it because I heard so many great things about it, and also because it seemed like the right time of the year, and therefore the perfect opportunity.

On a side note, I listened to this Audible performance (which was free throughout the month of December) and I have to say, it was a really great narration.

Anyway, back to the story itself. It is a very beautiful and moving story. I don’t really know what to say, I feel like I haven’t written a book review in so long, I don’t even know how to do it anymore. But really, I enjoyed this book way more than I thought I would.

Since I don’t really know what to say, I’m just going to share some positive and negative points to sum up my experience with this book!

Positive points:
* a beautiful story
* with a positive mindset
* rather relatable main character
* amazing writing

Negative points:
* predictable

Overall, I really enjoyed the story, and even if it was a bit predictable (what would be the point of the story if it didn’t end like that anyway, that would be depressing!) it was a very beautiful story.

My rating: ★★★★✩

One thought on “A Christmas Carol: My Review

Leave a Reply

