The Eden Conspiracy: My Review

img_20160718_102201

Genre: YA/NA, Dystopia
The Liberty Box #2
Author: C.A. Gray
Publication: July 2016
My rating: ★★★✩✩

And first of all, I wanted to thank the author for providing me with a review copy of her book. As usual, this doesn’t influence my opinion in any way.

Warning: Spoilers for the first book in the series!

My review of The Liberty Box

The story:

The Eden Conspiracy picks up where The Liberty Box left: Kate Brandeis and Jackson MacNamera are on the run from the Potentate with a group of refugees, and they are just rescued by Kate’s supposedly dead fiancé Will, who can’t believe what Kate has become.

In the meantime, Kate wants to become stronger, and asks for Jackson’s help to resist the mind control the country imposes on its citizens. And of course, in the meantime she also realises she might be falling for him…

My opinion:

I think I liked this one slightly better than the previous one, which was a pleasant surprise. The last book in the series, The Phoenix Project, will be released in March, and I will read it and review it as soon as I have finished my current read.

One of my favourite things about this trilogy is probably the world building. The setting C.A. Gray created for her story is really unique and fascinating. It is a very typical dystopia like we recognize in The Hunger Games for example, but it also has very unique elements. The mind control is pushed to an extent I had never seen before in another book, and it’s really fascinating.

Another thing I really appreciate about this book is the fact that unlike many other dystopia books, it’s featuring adults rather than teenagers, and as much as I can relate to teenagers, it overall makes more sense to see characters slightly older fighting in this kind of context.

I really like Kate’s character development, and how she keeps trying and trying to do better and help everyone. She has grown far from who she used to be, and it’s always something pleasant to see as a reader.

As for the Potentate, he is really the perfectly made dystopian villain, who never fails to imagine a crazy new evil plan to keep the power. I have to admit, his character is really well executed.

I won’t reveal more, but I also quite liked the new characters introduced in this volume.

However, as in the first book, I found it hard to figure out my actual thoughts on Jackson. I want to like him, but – and it’s not the first time – I have a hard time really appreciating this kind of characters, and by that I mean people who grew up in nature, and love it, can’t live without it and are also very blunt (another similar character in a completely different story is Benny from Benny & Shrimp by Katarina Mazetti, but this is another subject entirely). Anyway, I have troubles appreciating Jackson, and don’t really understand the relationship between him and Kate, so that made it a bit hard to love the book to its full extent.

Overall, I enjoyed this storybut it sometimes left me a bit frustrated because most of the characters are extremely stubborn. I also find this world quite disturbing, which may have prevented me from enjoying this book even more, but I think it also means the world building is very well done!

If you have read this book, feel free to comment with your opinion in the comments. If you haven’t, you should definitely check out the first book in the trilogy!

Recommended for:

Dystopia lovers, and people interested in mind control. This book also reminded me of Open Mind by Susan Kaye Quinn for some reason. I just can’t help thinking about it when I read this series.

2 thoughts on “The Eden Conspiracy: My Review

Leave a Reply

