The Phoenix Project: My Review

img_20170311_111016_891.jpg

First of all, I wanted to thank the author, C.A. Gray, for providing me with an ARC of this book. The Phoenix Project is the third and last book in The Liberty Box trilogy, and my favourite. It will be released on tomorrow, on the 20th of March.

Genre: New Adult, Dystopia
My rating: ★★★★✩

Warning: Spoilers for The Liberty Box and The Eden Conspiracy!

The story:

In this third installment of The Liberty Box trilogy, Kate and Jackson are both prisoners of the Potentate, Jackson deep in a dark cell, next to a mysterious man named Joe who claims he built the Liberty Box, and Kate inside the palace, brainwashed again, and made to believe that Jackson is the one who brainwashed her, and that her entire family as well as Will is dead because of him.

Outside, Will is very much alive, though one of the only remaining Rebels, along with Charlie (Kate’s brother) and a couple of others. Together, they try to break out the prisoners, and stop the brainwashing.

My opinion:

I have to admit, I was not a huge fan of the first book in the series. But I still really liked the concept, and was curious as to what would happen next, so I eventually continued with the second, and eventually the third and last book. And I’m so glad  did because this one was my favourite in the whole trilogy.

I think the brainwashing aspect of this story is rather original, it takes 1984 to a whole new level. I also like the fact that the rebels are adult rather than teenagers, which makes the whole story much more believable in my opinion. This dystopia is different from other recent dystopias like The Hunger Games or Divergent or The Maze Runner or so many others, and it’s quite refreshing. It however also reminded me a bit of Mockingjay (The Hunger Games #3 by Suzanne Collins) but it was probably because it was the climax and end of a revolution and gave off the same kind of feeling. If you liked Mockingjay, then you should check out this trilogy!

What else can I say about this book? I was delighted to see that Will finally got a POV in this book. I’ve been dying to read from his perspective throuhout book two, and it was a really pleasant surprise to see that it was finally happening. I quite like his character, though I have to admit his relationship with Kate is not exactly a healthy one. As a character outside of this relationship, he is very interesting.

The relationship between Kate and Jackson also really evolved in this book, though I don’t have much to say about it. Honestly the romance was not really my cup of tea in this trilogy, but it was a bit better in this book, with both of them really accepting their feelings and working on them.

The Potentate was as awful as ever. He is really a well-made villain, and it was interesting to get into his past a bit more (though it clearly didn’t excuse any of his mad acts!)

Oh and I almost forgot to mention: including Joe’s character in this book was honestly brilliant. It was such a great plot twist which really stood out in this book.

In the end, Kate goes through a fantastic character development throughout this series, and it’s really great to see where she came from and who she managed to become. She really struggles with herself a lot in this last instalment, there are lots of scenes where she is confused at first, and later, she is trying to become stronger, bolder, and better. She is a fighter and a survivor, and I grew fonder of her throughout this trilogy.

Finally, I also believe the author improved a lot and it was a really pleasant surprise in this last instalment.

Feel free to share your opinion if you also read this book, and otherwise, I recommend you check out this trilogy!

One thought on “The Phoenix Project: My Review

Leave a Reply

