Tips To Travel To Paris

Last week, two of my friends visited me in Paris and I came up with some advice and pictures. I originally shared this post on Travel Amino (you can add me there, I’m also called Clemi Reads) and I figured I could also share it on here so more people could read it!

I hope these are useful, I also added some more from my original post, since I got a few more ideas as I wrote this.

Pictures are all mine!

* Be aware that the security in crazy high in Paris, and your bag will be checked everywhere.

* All National Museums are free for people under 18 and European students under 26, so always carry ID and/or student ID if you meet these conditions. Also, you don’t have to stand in line for tickets if you meet the conditions. You will just need to stand in line for security. (Louvre, Orsay and Versailles are all national museums). I believe they are also free for teachers, though you might need to check that.

* The entrance to Notre Dame is free. If there is a long line when you come, you can also go about half an hour before it closes in the evening, there shouldn’t be a long line at that time!

* Go visit Shakespeare and Company, it’s the best booshop ever! ♥

* If you want to go to the Louvre, there is always a huge line for security through the Pyramid. However, there are other entrances with no or very little line. One of them is through the metro station Palais Royal Musée du Louvre. Follow Exit n°6 and then the arrows pointing at the museum entrance. The line for security is much smaller if you go this way.

* Keep in mind that a lot of museums are closed on Tuesday.

* If you want to go to Versailles, you should go at 9 am to avoid the crowd.

* If you want to go to the Eiffel Tower, I definitely recommend taking the stairs instead of the elevator, as it’s much cheaper (student price is 5€ to the second floor, there are 3 floors) and also the line is much shorter. It’s around 650 steps to the second floor but it’s honestly doable!

* You will need a transports ticket. I believe there is a tourist ticket, but I’m not sure it’s the cheapest way to travel, especially if you don’t need to go to the airport. There is a day ticket called Mobilis which is, I believe, much cheaper.

Don’t hesitate to ask me if you want more advice and addresses!

5 thoughts on “Tips To Travel To Paris

  1. Great post!
    I went to Paris on a school trip when I was younger, but I feel that I would appreciate it more now that I am older. Thanks for the travel tips, I’ve favourited the post for future reference. 🙂
    Lovely photos btw!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Great post! I definitely should have gone to a different entrance when I went to the Louvre, although luckily it didn’t take us that long to get in. I never realised the Louvre was so big until I went, it took us longer to find the exit than we actually spent looking round! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

