Anything You Can Do: My Review

IMG_20170214_105230_114

Finally, a book review. Considering I read this one back in February, it was long due… Like so many others I will maybe write and post at some point this month. Since I’m in a kind of book slum now, I figured it left me time to actually write reviews for all the books I read in the past two or three months which I hadn’t reviewed yet.

Genre: New Adult, Romance, Contemporary
Trope: Enemies to lovers
Release: February 2017
Author: R.S. Grey
My rating: ★★★✩✩

Anything You Can Do

The story:

Lucas and Daisy have been neighbours for their entire life – until they moved to college. They have been rivals for their entire life, born a few hours apart, both excellent at school… Until they moved away, to study medicine. Now both of them are coming back to work side by side as doctors, both competing for the same job.

But the situation has changed in ways that Daisy did not expect. Especially when Lucas starts kissing her…

My opinion:

I picked up this book because I have been following the author on instagram for quite some time without actually reading anything of hers. So when I saw this was going to be released, I decided it was the perfect opportunity to pick it up and I did. It’s available on Kindle if you want to read it as well.

However, I was to say I was a bit disappointed. Overall, I did enjoy it, I just wanted more, expected more of it. Maybe it’s my fault for setting up my expectations too high. Maybe I was not in the right mood when I read it. I don’t know.

I really love the enemies to lover trope, it is honestly something I don’t think I will ever grow tired of. It’s my guilty pleasure I guess. So I did really enjoy this aspect of the novel.

But I often felt it was too slow, and I found the main character, Daisy, extremely frustrating. She failed to notice so many obvious things, damnit… I don’t want to say anymore because this is a spoilerfree review, but come on. She was a strong character in her own way, but she could also really be frustrating.

That being said, I really liked Lucas’ character. I thought he was much more likeable and patient than Daisy, though he too could be frustrating at some point.

Overall, the story was a bit predictable, but hey, it was obvious from the beginning. When you go into this kind of books, you know more or less how it will turn out in the end, and I will not complain about this. Anything you can do is a quick read and a no-brainer, so if that’s what you’re looking for, and if you like hate to love relationships, then this is definitely something you will enjoy.

Similar novels I can recommend:
* Eligible by Curtis Sittenfeld. It’s a modern Pride and Prejudice retelling, you can check out my review here.
The 100 by Kass Morgan also has a hate to love relationship though in a very different context.

*

Please feel free to share your opinion in the comments, and maybe point out things I didn’t notice, I would love to discuss in the comments!

Leave a Reply

