Balance Broken: My Review

IMG_20170227_112955_039

Balance Broken is the second book in the Starbright series by Hilary Thompson. It was first published in 2014. You can also read my review of the first book, Justice Buried, by clicking this link.

Genre: YA, Fantasy, Dystopia
My rating: ★★★★✩

Warning: Spoilers for the first book in the series!

The story:

Astrea and Lexan have escaped Asphodel, trying to figure out a way to save their people from First Leader Keirna, and achieve the prophecy surrouning their birth. Running away from the Tribes with the help of Stian and Zarea, they decide to turn to the city of Tartarus and its leader Hadeon. Except little by little, they realise there is more to their story, to the prophecy, to the past creation of the place they grew up in. The second book in the series takes them on a journey through their roots and their miraculous powers, trying to find a way to save their people, their world, and everything they know.

My opinion:

I read this book back in March, so it’s getting harder and harder to review it as I have read and done a lot since then, but I will try my best.

When I read the first book in the series, I came with low expectations and was pleasantly surprised in the end. With this one, I have to admit I liked it even more than the previous one, and I can’t wait to finish this series, now that I am finally out of my reading slump.

One thing I really liked about this book is that it introduced new, very interesting characters, like Hadeon and Irana. I’m a sucker for complex characters, and this book has plenty, including Astrea and Lexan, the main characters. I really like the evolution of their relationship (even if it’s a tad cliché, I really don’t care in this particular book!) and how it turned out in the end got me really curious about the last installment. What is also interesting is that these characters are not perfect, and they make mistakes. They have to go through impossible choices, but do not try to act like some sort of “superhumans”. They try their best and don’t always succeed. They go through a lot of shit, but they are human. I really like this aspect of the story.

On the other hand, I’m not a huge fan of Stian, to be honest, though I have to admit he is a quite interesting character. He is part of why I didn’t give this book 5 stars, unfortunately. I really love Zarea though, and I can’t wait to learn more about her.

I really love the fact that this series mixes a lot of different elements such as astrology and prophecies, but also mythology and dystopia, as well as fantasy and magic. It has a bit of everything, in a perfect and unexpected blend, and I just find this fascinating.

Overall, it’s a quick, catchy, easy and very enjoyable read. Very hard to put down. I definitely recommend it.

If you want to learn more about this series you can also check out my Release Day post.

Please feel free to share your opinion in the comments if you have read/are reading this book as I would love to discuss it. If you have anything similar to recommend, I am also interested!

Leave a Reply

