Reflection: Dragon’s Bane – My Review

IMG_20170505_182502_066

Dragon’s Bane is the fourth book in the Records of the Ohanzee series by Rachel Smith. I thought it would be the last book in the series, but in fact, it is not. The story continues, it is just the ending of a first story arc… And I am really excited as I love this universe.

I received a review copy from the author on the day of publication in exchange for a honest review. This doesn’t influence my opinion in any way.

I reviewed all the previous books in the series on this blog, you can look for it, and I also had the pleasure of interviewing Rachel last year: you can read her answers here.

Reflection: Dragon’s Bane (Records of the Ohanzee #4)
Genre: YA, Fantasy
Author: Rachel R. Smith
Release: April 25th 2017
My rating: ★★★★★

Warning: Might contain spoilers for book one, two and three!!

The story:

The fourth book picks up right where the third book left. Nerissa – still known as Caeneus by most of her companions – just learned than one of the books containing the prophecy has fallen into Casimer’s hands. In the meantime, the sixth book is still missing.

The Ohanzee plans on meeting Charis in the city of Maze, in the middle of a festival, to retrieve Nerissa’s old set of crystals. One things leads to another, and the group receive a letter letting them know that its sender posseses the last book and is willing to give it to them, but times are hard, and they’re not sure if they sould trust it or not, especially considering the fact that the city is full of Senka members…

My opinion:

First of all, I just wanted to say how grateful I am to Rachel Smith, for writing this series and sending me review copies. I absolutely love those books and this universe. These books are really underrated, and you should definitely check them out.

The second book was my favourite in the series so far, but now, I think I liked this one even more. I gave it five stars without thinking, it just made sense from beginning to end.

Yes, these books are not perfect, but they are just my cup of tea. I just love this universe, with its bits of magic and well used science, and just enough disguise. We have a badass heroine, an adorable romance that is not overshadowing the main intrigue, and a group of awesome side-characters. What else could one wish for? That is certainly enough for me.

Throughout the series, the characters evolve, grow stronger, show more and more understanding towards one another and it was incredibly satisfying to read. We also gets bits and pieces of the story from the point of view of the “enemy” and that makes it even more entertaining. I also love the fact that the author kept some mind blowing surprises concerning certain characters (I won’t say more) until the end of this book – I really didn’t expect that, and it made me realise once again how much I loved those books and those characters.

Reading those books was an incredible journey, and I definitely recommend them if you like YA and fantasy. This series also seems sometimes dystopia-like. If you like books like Red Queen I think you would like this one, it feels like the same kind of magical/futuristic universe, with wars and royals and weird science progress to some extent…

Anyway, if you have read this series, I would love to discuss it with you in the comments. If you haven’t, then I definitely recommend it.

One thought on “Reflection: Dragon’s Bane – My Review

Leave a Reply

