Summer Crush: My Review

IMG_20170517_111456_092

Summer Crush is an anthology of three stories, by Jay E. Tria, Six de los Reyes, and Tara Frejas. Thanks for all three authors, for sending me a copy of this book in exchange for a honest review, as part of their blog tour. I absolutely loved Summer Crush!

Genre: New Adult, Romance
Publication: April 9th, 2017
Blog Tour: May 12-19th
My rating: ★★★★☆

Blurb:

Each story follows people attending the same event for the weekend: Summer Crush, on the beach of La Union. A weekend that is all supposed to be about music and sun and dance and happiness.

But for Ana, there is stress lingering in the shadow. Her band member boyfriend Miki co-wrote the star song of the festival, but her thoughts are elsewhere. Her job as an accountant is consuming her life away, and as much as she loves it, she sometimes wishes she didn’t have to spend so much time on it, and starts rethinking her life with Miki. (Story: You only need reminding me by Jay E. Tria)

Filippina has just been reinstated as EG Project’s roadie, and things are going great, except when her semi-secret boyfriend shows up at La Union, and her ex crush starts acting up and might screw up the band’s concert. (Story: Almost There by Tara Frejas)

Rhys has too much things on her hands for the weekend, with Arabella, the new band she’s supposed to take care of, and the song she was forced into cowriting with a member of Trainman. And now she also has to perform on stage. So really, it’s not the time to rethink her relationship with her boyfriend. But lingering feelings for her friend Isaiah get in the way, and as it happens, things don’t always go as planned… (Story: Ocean Eyes by Six de los Reyes)

My opinion:

I was worried that this book might be too cheesy or cliché for me, as it was very obviously classified as romance, but I was delighted to find that it was absolutely my cup of tea, and I definitely recommend it. Now that summer is coming, it’s the perfect read.

Each story is different, and I loved reading from different points of view, and seeing characters from one story in another story. It made me realise I should read anthologies likes this more often, so if you have any to recommend, please do!

The book was easy to read, and the writing of each story very enjoyable. The characters are very relatable, especially Rhys. I really loved her, and how all her inner troubles about life, and crowds and standing out were depicted. Filipina and Ana, the two other main girl characters are also very relatable. These women are strong and know what they want, and it’s very refreshing to read about them.

One more thing I liked in this book was all the little references to music, and all the song lyrics inserted in the story. I love music and poetry, and having this inserted in a novel is always something I enjoy, so of course, I loved it here.

Overall, this was a light and sweet read. It’s quick and easy to read, with beautifully depicted and very relatable characters. I definitely loved this book, and I hope you do too! Please feel free to share your opinion in the comments if you have read it as well!

Recommended for:

If you like anthologies like Let it Snow by John Green, Maureen Johnson and Lauren Myracle, then this is definitely a book I will recommend! The main difference is that this one takes place in the summer, but otherwise, it’s the same kind of concept, and I love it.

When I knew I could read more about the characters of Scandalized by Tara Frejas, I knew I had to get my hands on this book. You can hear my thoughts on Scandalized here!

If you liked Songs to get over you by Jay E. Tria and Just for the record or Feels like summer by Six de los Reyes, then you should definitely check out Summer Crush, as you will meet those characters again. However, having read those is not necessary to love Summer Crush!

Also check out:
More info about the book
Writing advice from all three authors

One thought on “Summer Crush: My Review

Leave a Reply

