Simon vs. the Homo Sapiens Agenda: My Review

IMG_20170513_175534_557

I see reviews of The Upside of Unrequited everywhere these days and I really want to read this one, but I haven’t gotten my hands on it yet. However, I have finally read Simon vs. the Homo Sapiens Agenda – and I feel like I am the last person in the book community to do so – so I really wanted to talk about it, because I absolutely loved it, and I don’t know why I waited such a long time to read it.

Author: Becky Albertalli
Publication: 2015
Genre: YA, Contemporary, Romance
My rating: ★★★★★

Simon vs. the Homo Sapiens Agenda

The story:

Simon has been exchanging emails with Blue for a while now. And no one knows about it but the two of them. It’s what makes their relationship so unique and magical. That, and the fact that they have exchanged deep secrets. And also the fact that Simon might be falling for Blue, even if he doesn’t know who he is in real life.

Everything is fine until one of his classmates discovers the emails and implicitely blackmails him. If Simon helps him get closer to one of his best friends, he will leave him alone. And Simon really wants to protect Blue.

Between the school play, old and new friendships, and his more and more flirty relationship with Blue now threatened by a classmate, Simon’s Junior year of high school will turn out more complicated than he could ever have expected. (And believe me, it’s worth it.)

My opinion:

This books was sweet, beautiful and brilliant at the same time. I read it in one day. I had to stop everything else because I just wanted to know what would happen next, and how things would turn out. It was terribly, terribly worth it.

Simon vs. the Homo Sapiens Agenda reveals the turmoils of growing up, being a high school student, and coming out. And just like Simon said, I wish straight people also had to come out. This book depicts the struggles of being gay in a society that thinks people are straight by default, and also depicts well what it’s like to be a teen, a high school student, and in love. It also brings up subjects like bullying and blackmail, which are both sadly present and important in high schools.

I really loved Simon’s story line with Blue, obviously. (And I guessed his real identity way before Simon did, just saying…) I also really liked how accurately friendships were described in this book. And I loved how realistic and supportive Simon’s family was.

Honestly, I don’t know why I waited so long to read this book. It is very beautifully written. It speaks words of wisdom. It is positive. It also shows how cruel teens can be, and how hard it is to live in a society where people see you and judge you as different. Thankfully, this book was also full of amazing and accepting characters. And it was so satifying to read that.

On a side note, I always realise how different American high school are to French (and European?) ones when I read American YA, and once again, this hit me while reading Simon vs. the Homo Sapiens Agenda. It’s always interesting for me to read this kind of books, even if high school is long past me.

result_1494253171460

Finally, I just wanted to leave you here with this quote.

If you want feel free to share your opinion on Simon vs. the Homo Sapiens Agenda in the comments, I would love to know! And similar recommendations are also very welcome!

One thought on “Simon vs. the Homo Sapiens Agenda: My Review

Leave a Reply

