One Of Us Is Lying: My Review

IMG_20170610_155947_173   IMG_20170610_155959_239

(Left: US cover, Right: UK cover)

First of all, huge thanks to Penguin Random House UK for sending me an ARC of this book in exchange for a honest review. This doesn’t affect my opinion in any way.

Title: One Of Us Is Lying
Author: Karen McManus
Publication: June 1st, 2017
Genre: YA, Mystery/Thriller
My rating: ★★★★✩

The story:

The brain, the beauty, the crimminal, the athlete, the outcast.

Five students attend detention on a Monday afternoon, for something all say they didn’t even do. The thing is, before the hour is over, one of them is dead. Simon, creator of the school’s gossip app About That, died because of a peanut allergy, and the police seems to believe it was no accident at all. Indeed, the clues seem to lead to a murder, and soon, all 4 other students are put in the spotlight, and accused of having murder their comrade together. Especially since they were apparently Simon’s next target on About That, each one soon having their darkest secrets revealed.

 Is one of them really the killer? Or is the actual murderer on the loose and using them as scapegoat?

My opinion:

I saw a review of this book and immediately wanted to check it out, so I requested and received a copy from NetGalley. Thanks again to the author and the publisher for granting my request. This book was very clever and well-made, very fascinating. It is narrated through the point of view of Bronwyn, Addy, Nate and Cooper, the four students who get out of detention alive and all have something to hide, which leads to them all becoming murder suspects. They are what you can call unreliable narrators, hiding their secrets until the end when they can, and it’s something I really liked about the story. It just makes it more fascinating to read.

Overall, I felt like the characters were quite realistically depicted. They are in high school, they try their best, they make mistakes. In that extent, they were quite relatable. They also all had amazing characters development, which I absolutely loved.

Honestly, this book was fascinating and hard to put down. Every time a chapter ended, I had to know what would happen next. My only regret was that it was a little bit too cliché sometimes, but I guess that is also part of what makes this book what it is. Four students who have nothing in common, and are all high school cliché, entrapped into a murder case, trying to figure out who the real murderer is. Can they trust one another? They don’t even know it themselves.

I have to say, I had my suspicions as to who the real murdere was, and it turned out I was right. It was still very interesting to see everything unravel, and I have to admit, this book had some seriously interesting plot twists.

I won’t say more because I want to keep this non spoilery. But all I can say is that I definitely recommend this book!

Similar reads you might enjoy:

I don’t actually read that much mystery or thriller books, but when I do, I actually really enjoy them. This book kind of gave off the same vibe as Girl Last Seen by Anne Greenwood Brown and Heather Anastasiu, which is another YA Mystery/Thriller with crazy plot twists. So if you liked one of those, you might want to check out the other one! (Also you can check out my review here if you want to know more about Girl Last Seen).

3 thoughts on “One Of Us Is Lying: My Review

Leave a Reply

