Let’s Talk About Feminism

The other day, I got into an argument on Twitter with some random guy. Basically, he twitted something like “Let’s make a group to bully feminazis together and help each other against them” and I subtweeted “Who still does that?” and then people started getting angry. He also randomly insulted someone who had nothing to do with this in the middle of his answers. I was honestly apalled. Originally I wanted to make a thread on Twitter, but I realised I had too much to say, and decided to make a blog post instead.

First of all, he was making a group to bully people he didn’t like, don’t even get me started on that. That’s not what twitter or any social media is for. And it’s dangerous. Don’t even get me started on that. Bullying is wrong, end of the argument.

But the issue I wanted to address here is the term “feminazi” which is wrong, and shouldn’t even exist. The term “nazi” refers to a group of people who killed thousand of Jews, homosexuals, Roma and POC as well as political opposants in concentration camps. And this term should only refer to them. Since I started living in Germany, I realised that this issue was even more sensitive than I originally thought it was. Using this word is serious (it also goes for “grammar nazi” by the way, don’t say this, it doesn’t make sense). Using it is wrong. It’s harmful for no reason. Please don’t do that.

Now, there is another term I often hear when referring to feminists, and that is “anrgy feminist”. In a way, I find it quite negative, but at the same time, I am a feminist, and I am angry, and I wouldn’t mind being called an angry feminist, because I have a right to be angry.

* I’m angry because people expect me to shut up, get married, have kids and take care of my family.

* I am angry because the advertisement industry is sexist.

* I am angry because too many women don’t have a right to education.

* I am angry because of all the prejudice against sex workers.

* I am angry because of the salary differences between men and women, and even more so, between white men and women of colour. I honestly can’t believe we live in a society like this.

I want to fight for a better world, and I can’t believe there are people who want to shut us up. I have a right to be angry. As long as there are inequalities, I have a right to be angry. Feminism is about equality, not about men bashing – though men are mostly the reason of those inequalities, and are pretty fine with it. Feminism is about giving women – all women – the same rights as men and especially white allocishet men. It’s not about giving women more rights than men. It’s also about raising awareness on those inequalities and solve them. I can’t believe this is the 21st century and people still don’t know that.

In the light of Simone Veil’s recent passing away, I also wanted to comment on something I have seen going around on social media. In case you didn’t know, who Simone Veil is, she is a French politician and activist who fought for women’s right to abortion. And another important fact about her is that she was deported in a concentration camp during World War II as a child, and came back. She was an amazing woman.

She passed away recently, and people again couldn’t help but saying abortion was horrible, but that’s not even what I wanted to discuss. Abortion should be a right, and should be up to a woman’s choice.

What I wanted to discuss is the fact that people were dissing on contemporary feminism, and how much Veil would be ashamed of us. And they were saying that it was better in the past, and that we were aggressive for no reason. I already have listed some of my reasons above. And the feminist movement always had to be violent, at least to some extent, and one of the best exemples for this is probably the Suffragettes movement, which happened a century ago. We just use different means because it’s a different era. And once again, we have a right to be angry. I’m not sure whether it’s a good thing or not, but it’s a fact: you need to scream to make your voice be heard in this world. There’s still a lot to do, and we need to fight, because otherwise there’s no way we’ll be heard. Honestly I can’t believe French people still don’t see that. We got democracy through a revolution. Women at least have a right to be angry that we still don’t have the same rights as men.

And in today’s era, social media is one of the means we have to do that, and we’re not going to be ashamed of it, and we’re not going to stop. It just makes sense, and it’s efficient (and that’s probably why it annoys some people). Social media is one mean among others to be heard, and of course we’re going to take our fight there, just like the Suffragettes took it to the streets. This was a century ago. You can’t compare it to our fight today.

Before I end this article, I know that I am also priviledged, as a young white woman living in Europe. And I recognize that there are many more women who suffer these inequalities more than I do. And I want to fight for them.

 

Lorde made an excellent point about feminism not too long ago (you can watch it here) and I think she’s absolutely right. Honestly, these words are so inspirational, I’m going to try to be more like her when it comes to this. And still fight for it.

And if you want to educate yourself about feminism, I definitely recommendΒ We Should All Be Feminists by Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie, both the TED Talk and the booklet.

12 thoughts on “Let’s Talk About Feminism

  1. A wonderful post! I hate that terrible people like this still exist but that’s the world we live in for now. Good on you for calling them on it. I agree, we should be angry feminists – everyone should be considering some of the horrible things women go through across the world. We should be fighting for those who do not have the privilege we do that allows us to have our voices heard. Also, go Lorde!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Good evening. I Would just like to briefly discuss your accusations. You stated ”
    I am angry because of the salary differences between men and women, and even more so, between white men and women of colour.” I wold just like to tell you that the gender wage gap is a lie. It is as it does not factor in the hours worked, and women typically work less hours than men, working 35.8 hours to a males 41. Reasons for this are because men are usually more willing to work harder jobs (also one reason male working fatalities are 97% of all working fatalities) and harder hours. I am going to publish an article on this soon (this weekend), and would request that you spend 2 minutes of your time to read it. Hopefully, by acknowledging both sides of the debate, we can understand both perspectives and move towards ‘bridging this so called gap.’
    My article also addresses some of the other things you stated you didn’t like about society.
    Anyways, thank you for your time. I hope you check that article out.

    Like

  3. First of all, I just want to say I love your post. I never knew how to word my frustration with the feminist landscape until now. ‘I have a right to be angry’. So simple, but so many people can’t understand it. We have so many reasons to be angry. Kathy Caprino said it best, ‘It is abundantly clear that our views on these issues are rooted deeply in our own personal and direct experiences. In other words, if we’ve personally faced discrimination we know beyond doubt that it exists. But if we haven’t faced it ourselves, we often doubt that it happens’. People can be rampant with gender biases but are simply not aware of it. Unfortunatly, you’re twitter trolls and mister kyscnn ^ are these people. You can’t tell me I’m being discriminated against, you’re not me, you’re not a woman. You would have no idea. I’m currently working on a campaign that focuses on society’s relationship with the word ‘feminism’. I’m trying to encourage more healthy and productive discussion surrounding why people hate the word so much so we can move on and actually get to the real issues that feminism presents in support for both men and women.
    fminism.wordpress.com

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I enjoyed reading this so much! Go you! I know a few other people have said this, but I think your point about angry feminists is so right. There shouldn’t be any feminists out there who aren’t angry. I’ve read Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie’s booklet and recommended it to all of my friends too!

    Can’t wait to see what else you’ve written soon!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

