A Little Life Update

I’m writing this article as an explanation on why I’m so inactive this month, and why there is so little bookish content on my blog recently (although my last article is a book review). The main reason is, I’ve been super busy, obviously. And since I haven’t done a proper life update post in a while, I decided I might as well do one now, since lots of things have been happening!

As some of you may know, I have been living in Berlin since the end of September. Moving here was a crazy adventure, I had to move dorms in the middle of the year, I had to struggle with German, I met so many amazing people, I got to travel… But more importantly, and something I absolutely did not expect, I found a place where I belong. Sadly, this amazing year is coming to an end, and I am going back to France of Tuesday. I still cannot believe it.

I have been super busy since the beginning of July, because first, two of my friends visited me, and it was amazing.

Then, I had to move out of my dorm in the middle of exams. I am now staying in a friend’s room in my previous dorm, because my contract ended one week before the end of the exams. I am not going to discuss this matter further, but if you want to read my live-tweet of this adventure (yes I do that) you can read it here. I can’t believe it’s been a week already. On top of that, I had exams, so not much time to read or blog.

Another reason why there is less bookish content on here sometimes is that I want to speak up more about things that matter to me, like feminism and mental illness, and this is something that is reflecting on my blog as well as my twitter account (which was always a mess of things anyway). I am also trying to inform myself as much as I can on all sorts of issues, both on the internet and by reading diverse reads. (And I’m loving it.)

I have also been struggling a lot with mental illness recently. There are ups and downs, obviously. But I have been feeling better this past few weeks. I have met some amazing people throughout this year. I am finally making projects for the future, and by that I mean projects that are getting me super excited, projects where I can actually see myself. Things are starting to make sense. And it’s getting me super excited. Of course, there are still tons of things unanswered. But I have things to look forward too.

And after wondering about it forever, I decided to get a tattoo, which is also something that I am super excited about. I’ve had it for about a month now, but I don’t think I have mentioned it here, so here we go!

IMG_20170624_140955_277_2

And one more thing I wanted to mention because it also got me really excited. On Saturday I attended Christopher Street Day, also known as the Berlin Pride Parade. It was my first time attending Pride, and it was an amazing experience. Unfortunately we got caught in a massive storm – I honestly have never been so soaked in my entire life – but it didn’t matter. It was so heartwarming. A beautiful, amazing experience.

Bonus: my friend nudging me and telling me “that’s your people!!” when a group of people walked by with a bisexual pride flag. And I have to admit, it was so comforting and beautiful and welcoming. Hard to describe. But it felt good and I’m so glad I went. It didn’t even matter that there was a huge crowd, and I will definitely do it again.

I guess that’s it for today. Bits and pieces of what has been up with me recently. I hope you are all having a fantastic day. And thank you so much for still being there! I recently reached 400 followers, and it is so unbelievable! Stay awesome!

Leave a Reply

