Top 5 Wednesday: Holiday Party Fictional Food

Top Five Wednesday is a weekly meme created by Lainey @GingerReadsLainey and she has passed down the torch to Sam @ThoughtsOnTomes. For more information and for future topics you can check out the goodreads group.


Holiday food is my favourite kind of food, and I also love bookish food, so obviously I found this week’s topic absolutely fantastic, and I wanted to share 5 bookish food I am obsessed with for the holiday season.

1. Madame Bovary’s Pièce Montée (Gustave Flaubert, Madame Bovary)

Madame Bovary’s wedding cake from Flaubert’s eponym novel is one of French Literature’s most famous piece of food and I am obsessed with it. I also have to admit that I love “pièce montée” and really resent the fact that it’s a celebration kind of food because I could honestly eat it every day. Of course I had to include it in this top.

2. Any kind vegetarian of Hogwarts banquet food (J.K. Rowling, Harry Potter series)

And I’m not talking about those stupid Hogwarts Mystery sandwiches, I’m here for the Welcoming Banquet from the Philosopher’s Stone, seen through the eyes of a boy who was never properly fed, I’m here for the Halloween banquet (and the one with the humans, not Nick’s birthday party), I’m here for the Christmas parties! If you try to tell me you didn’t get hungry while reading the Harry Potter books, I will not believe you.

anigif_sub-buzz-28420-1481910814-9.gif

3. The waffles Nina wants to eat with Matthias (Leigh Bardugo, Six of Crows duology)

I had seen people mentioning the waffles on tumblr before actually reading the passage where Nina talked about them, and I was like what kind of quirk is that, it’s porbably overrated, whatever. That was before I read the passage. Now, I do want those waffles, and I want them now. 🥞

4. Catherine’s lemon pie (Marissa Meyer, Heartless)

If you like books with decadent food descriptions, then I would definitely recommend Heartless by Marissa Meyer (although you should be ready to have your heart broken). Throughout the book, Catherine bakes many cakes and pies, and I just can’t get that lemon pie off my mind. I just want to eat all the cake I guess. 🍰🥧

5. Percy’s blue birthday cake (Rick Riordan, Percy Jackson series)

Every year, Percy has a tradition with his mom for his birthday: eat all kinds of blue coloured food. And they’re not just eating blueberries, they are making blue coloured cakes and pancakes, and since I read those books I have become obsessed with the concept. In my mind, it is now associated with holiday/celebration food, and therefore deserves a royal place on my list. 🎂


I realised as I wrote this top that it matched last week’s list in many points, but what can I say, I have my faves and they hold a strong spot in my heart, so here we go again! Thank you so much for reading, and I wish you all the best for this holiday season!

One thought on “Top 5 Wednesday: Holiday Party Fictional Food

Leave a comment