Top 5 Tuesday: Sanity Savers

Top 5 Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted by Shanah @ The Bionic Book Worm. This week, the theme is not necessarily bookish related, it is rather related to the current events, which are affecting all of us. “Things that I’m enjoying while in isolation”. Personally, it’s been several weeks since I last went to work, as my workplace is a bookstore which is closed until further notice. Aka until the end of this pandemia I guess? I hope it will be over by the end of April! And anyway, here’s what keeps me busy at home in the meantime!


Books, obviously.

I decided to take this time to catch up with my unread piles of books at home, which was off to a great start when I started Crier’s War but also ended with it because Scribd extended its free period to a month and I’ve been spending most of my reading time on it since then. And it made me really happy because I’m reading REALLY GOOD BOOKS y’all.

Still rather obviously: Netflix.

Of course, as the confinement began, I knew that I was bound to spend some time on Netflix. I watched the new season of Elite, and now the new season of La Casa de Papel is out. What I didn’t know was that I would once again turn back to my comfort shows way of life: kdramas. I used to watch them all the time when I was in high school, and I’m now delighted to see that more and more of them are available on Netflix! The next on my watchlist is Itaewon Class.

Cooking ~

Cooking is obviously something I have always enjoyed doing, my two strong points being curry and chocolate. I’m using this opportunity to try out new recipes, and as a perfectly good excuse to bake cakes: we are all stuck at home, and we might as well enjoy it!

I’m learning Spanish!

It’s been three weeks now and I’m still going strong, so I can proudly share this random  confinement fact: I picked up Spanish on Duolingo! I learnt English and German in middle school/high school, and never regretted that because that’s what allowed me to go a year abroad in Berlin, and I LOVED it. However, I also feel like Spanish is really useful because it’s used in a lot of countries, so I decided to give it a try, and at least stick some of the very basics to my brain. So far, it’s going great and helping me feel productive!

Phone calls with my friends ~

And finally, the very things that refills my energy: I face time with my friends and it really helps!


Thanks for reading & stay safe!

3 thoughts on “Top 5 Tuesday: Sanity Savers

Leave a comment