Top 5 Wednesday: LBGTQIAP+ Reads

Top 5 Wednesday is a weekly bookish meme hosted on Goodreads. It’s had its ups and down, but this month we’re back with new topics! Feel free to join the group here. The theme for this week was “book with a LGBT+ element” and while I’m REALLY HAPPY about the books that I have picked, I feel like I should do a part two maybe next week, because I’ve discovered so many great books lately!


Crier’s War by Nina Varela

First off, we start with fantasy. In a world divided between Humans and Automae, and ruled by the latest, Lady Crier is the Made daughter of a powerful ruler. When servant Ayla saves her life, she hires her as a personal maid, not knowing the fact that Ayla wants to kill her to avenge her family who was killed by Automae. What she also didn’t expect was the irrevocable attraction that will grow between the two of them. Crier’s War is the F/F fantasy/enemies-to-lovers I didn’t know I needed. And now I’m desperately waiting for the sequel.

Like a Love Story by Abdi Nazemian

My second pick is historical! It takes place in 1989 during the AIDS crisis, and follows the fight led by ACT UP. The main character is an Iranian teenage boy coming to terms with his sexuality. It’s a story about first love, friendship, and fighting for what you believe in. It’s a really powerful book, and I abolutely loved it. (TW for homophobia, racism and fatphobia)

The Black Flamingo by Dean Atta

This is one of my most recent reads and I absolutely FELL IN LOVE with this book. It’s been on my radar ever since I first heard of it, and I’m so glad I finally got to read it. I actually listened to the audiobook, and it was absolutely wonderful. Throughout the story, we follow Michael from high school to college, as he comes to terms with who he is as a mixed race kid and young adult, and also as a gay teen. It’s also a story about drag, and creativity, and I completely fell in love with it. It’s also a short read, and I’d definitely recommend it!

Let’s Talk About Love by Claire Kann

This book was a warm hug to the bi and ace community, and I am here for it. Alice just finished her first year of college, and broke up with her girlfriend because they didn’t understand each other. Mostly, because she isn’t into sex, and is still trying to come to terms with it. She starts a summer job at the library, in order to get some independance, but what she didn’t plan on was meeting Takumi. The cutest person she has possibly ever seen before. Let’s Talk About Love is a wonderful coming-of-age story, it’s about friendship and family, and the romance aspect of it is absolutely ADORABLE.

Tash Hearts Tolstoy by Kathryn Ormsbee

And last but not least, another book with an asexual main character, because Tash was so damn relatable, on SO MANY LEVELS. I know I’ve talked about it a lot already, but I’m just going to babble again, because it’s worth it. Tash Hearts Tolstoy is a fantastic coming-of-age story, about internet fame, friends, family, and deciding what to do with your life. It’s an absolutely stunning book, and I can only recommend it. Bonus: the romance is hella cute, and it has the boy-next-door trope which I’m always soft for, as well as some unique antics. Do yourself a favour and check it out if you haven’t read it yet!


And that’s it for today! I’ll be back with more of those soon hopefully, and in the meantime, I hoep you have a wonderful day!

Leave a comment